Books similar to Harry Potter

NOTHING can come close to this series. I read them a few years ago in my 30s and still loved these books. Even though you will never come close to the magic of Harry Potter books here are some recommendations of other books that you may enjoy.

Oprah Magazine Recommends these:

  • The Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
  • The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson
  • Midnight for Charlie Bone by Jenny Nimmo
  • Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi
  • The Iron Trail by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare
  • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan and any of his books in this series
  • Eragon series by Christopher Paolini
  • The Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Children of Blood and Bone series by Tomi Adeyemi
  • I capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  • Ninth House by Leigh Basfugo
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
  • The Magicians series by Lev Grossman
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • A Discovery of Witches series by Deborah Harkness
  • The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett
  • Earthsea Quartet by Ursela k. Le Guin
  • Magic for Liard by Sarah Gailey
  • Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch
  • Little, Big by John Crownley

Others:

  • Borderline by Michell Baker
  • Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
  • The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
  • The Hunger Games series
  • Divergent Series by Veronica Roth
  • The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  • Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  • The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Baker
  • The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
  • Witchmark by C.L. Polk
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
  • Monstress By Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takenda
  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Queen of Tearling by Erika Johansen
  • The Alchemyst by Michael Scott
  • City of Bones series by Cassandra Clare
  • The Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan
  • The Barimaeus Series
  • The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series
  • The Farseer trilogy
  • The Mistborn series
  • The Abhorsen series
  • The Fablehaven series
  • The Tortall universe
  • Cinder Series
  • A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series by Ransom Riggs
  • Half Bad by Sally Green
  • Sabriel by Garth Nix
  • The Lord of the Ring Series by JRR Tolkien
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

If you have any suggestions, write them in the comments. I will add them to my list. Trust me, you will never come close tot he magic of the Harry Potter series. But these may get you through until you want to re-read the series again!

Happy reading, Book Nerds.

Be the first to comment on "Books similar to Harry Potter"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*